Not a Quick Fix

In our worship service this past Sunday, we sang a Sovereign Grace song called Shine Into Our Night. That’s not the first time I’ve heard or sung that song, but one line in the chorus caught my attention. It’s a song of confession, acknowledging our sinful hearts that are bent away from God, and the chorus is a prayer and plea for God to shine the light of His glory into the darkness of our wandering hearts.

That plea is a cry for rescue, but I tend to think of rescue as something that “fixes” my problem or makes it go away. Or even if the problem doesn’t disappear, to be rescued is to be taken out of the midst of that problem.

And so the line that stood out to me is what the songwriter gives as the means by which we are rescued. That method of rescue is to: “Bind us to Your cross, where we find life.” Wait a minute! The way to be rescued is to die?!? I’m not sure I like that methodology. I’d prefer to just have my problems fixed or taken away. But that is not how God seems to operate.

“For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.” Matthew 16:25

“For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ. It is not longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.” Galatians 2:19-20

“Put to death therefore what is earthly in you…” Colossians 3:5

God doesn’t do quick fixes. He is not in the business of surface solutions. He does hear my pleas for deliverance and rescue, but the way He brings that deliverance about is not always the quick and easy way that I might imagine or desire. Instead it’s usually a slow and painful dying to myself and to my ways and my plans. And that death to self does indeed bring deliverance, but it’s the deliverance of resurrection following death rather than a deliverance that prevents death in the first place.

Leave a Reply

