Rain Clouds and Weather Apps

I grew up in Portland, Oregon, where there are typically more days of rain in a year than days without rain (or at least that’s how it felt). I also grew up without a TV in the house, so we never watched the weather reports on the news. Instead, I learned pretty well how to look at the clouds and the wind and figure out when it was about to rain.

In Southern California, rain is not nearly as commonplace as in the Pacific Northwest. And the technology that my children have access to differs dramatically from what I grew up with. So the other day when I was working outside with my 8-year-old son, I felt the breeze picking up and noticed that the sky was looking pretty grey and overcast, so I made some comment about it looking like it was going to rain. My son, without looking up or breaking his rhythm of sweeping, said “Do you have your phone on you? Why don’t you just look at the weather app and then you’ll know if it’s going to rain.”

I smiled to myself as I pulled out my phone to check. A different generation in a different geographic location using different means of addressing the same questions. Should I be feeling old?

It didn’t rain that day–my son (and my phone) were correct.

Leave a Reply

