Just for Fun

Image 1For the past several months, this sign has been staring at me every time I exit the 10 freeway in Pomona on my way home. I’m not sure how long it took before it registered in my sleepy brain what the sign actually said. But once I realized it, it totally captured my nerdy sense of humor, so I kept trying to take a picture of it. I tried shooting it through the windshield while waiting at the red light. I tried having my daughter shoot it through the side window as we made the turn. I tried in the day. I tried at night. All to no avail–all I could capture was a fuzzy orange blob.

So one day I made a plan. I went the long way around and parked my car half a block away. I got out of my car, feeling a bit awkward, and tried to look nonchalant as I walked down the sidewalk toward the freeway onramp. What I didn’t factor in my plan, though, was that it was late afternoon traffic time, so there was a long string of cars waiting to turn right onto the freeway to go home. I thought I could just walk to the corner, snap a quick picture or two from my phone, then walk back to my car. What I discovered once I got to the corner, though, was that the angle of the road at that point made it impossible to even see the sign from the corner. Which of course meant that the only way to take a photo would be from the middle of the crosswalk.

I’d come this far, so I wasn’t going to back out now. Thankfully, there was a woman with a stroller waiting on the other side of the crosswalk, so I figured she could buy me a little time. I got my camera ready, then as soon as the light turned green, I walked to the middle of the crosswalk, stopped and took 2 photos of the sign, then turned around and followed the stroller back to the corner I had started from. All this while the long line of cars are impatiently waiting for the silly pedestrian to get out of the crosswalk so they can get on their way. As my teenagers would say: Awkward!!

When I showed the photo to my daughter, who shares my enjoyment of discovering funny typos or goofy word plays, she got a good laugh out of it. But when I told her what I had done to get the photo, she laughed even harder and told me that was funnier than the sign itself.

Leave a Reply

